Our review of thinkkit – revision essentials

Never mind about mid-election fatigue, we are suffering from mid-revision fatigue in my house. Any initial enthusiasm for the process (and there wasn’t much) has been used up, worn out and thrown away. So, where do we go from here? We are still only a quarter of the way through the process so it’s time to ring the changes and adopt a fresh approach and stock up on some revision essentials.

Choose a new room

The bedroom has become the enemy because that’s where revision takes place so I have suggested moving out! Luckily, we have some spare space as Daughter 1 is at university so her room has been used on a few occasions. A change is as good as a rest so they say. That is actually nonsense when it comes to revision but using your sister’s stuff does have a certain attraction, especially when you haven’t bothered asking her first.



Choose a new revision method

When it comes to revision we are a family of writers. It sinks into the grey matter when we write it down in notes, bullet points, diagrams or whatever we feel like at the time. When that stops working you have to try something else. I suggested walking around and saying it out-loud but I’m not sure if that worked.

Revision essentials

Get some new revision essentials

Okay, now we’re getting to the good bit. We were lucky because we were offered an exam kit to review from a lovely new company called thinkkit. It couldn’t have arrived at a better time for us! It injected a bit of colour into the proceedings and who doesn’t love a bit of new stationery.

In the kit you are provided with the following items and these guys obviously know their stuff because these revision essentials are exactly what students need. We got:

  • 100 x coloured and 100 x white index/revision cards with storage box and binding rings
  • A useful 12-week A2-size revision wall planner with colour-coded stickers in 10 different colours and how to use guide
  • Exam compliant equipment including large clear pencil case and clear 30cm/12″ ruler
  • Post-it note and page marker pack
  • Multi-coloured highlighter pen (5 colours)
  • A5 wiro-bound notebook
  • Black pen

Revision essentials

The complete kit comes supplied in a Think Kit branded handy drawstring bag.

This is a fantastic idea and we were delighted. Every single item is useful and nothing is wasted. We were using a home-made revision timetable on a wordprocessor but it was fiddly and annoying. this one is perfect. Post it notes have been deployed and highlighters have been utilised.

If she gets fed up of her sister’s bedroom, the next move may be into the rabbit hutch!


We were sent a complimentary kit to review. All thoughts, opinions and photos are our own.

  14 comments for “Our review of thinkkit – revision essentials

  1. May 19, 2017 at 6:02 pm

    Thank goodness, my children are now passed revision for exam age as it can be such a stressful time for all concerned, saying that my youngest son is about to start management training in his job
    Karen, the next best thing to mummy recently posted…Review of things Evie eatsMy Profile

    • May 22, 2017 at 1:42 pm

      Thanks Karen and good luck to your son! xx

  2. May 22, 2017 at 11:18 am

    This sounds like the perfect revision kit! Although in my limited experience of revision, I don’t think boys are so keen on stationery and useful revision kits. We did buy some post-its and little cards etc at the start of the process, but they haven’t been used. My son prefers to revise online. His chosen revision space is the desk top computer in the spare room, which is also my office. I do love finding a trail of chocolate wrappers on my desk 🙁
    Sarah MumofThree World recently posted…Comment on The long jump and the high jump by Sarah MummyMy Profile

  3. May 22, 2017 at 1:44 pm

    I love this comment Sarah. I can picture you picking up chocolate wrappers! Wish him lots of luck from me xx

  4. May 23, 2017 at 11:19 am

    This looks great! I love anything paper. Mine are not at exam levels yet, but even with study it’s important they have a space and the right materials. #TweensTeensBeyond
    Mackenzie Glanville recently posted…Changing our perceptionMy Profile

  5. May 23, 2017 at 11:28 am

    That sounds really good. We’ve just started revision season. It’s not much fun! Good luck to everyone with exams – either taking or supporting others
    Tubbs recently posted…#NotThe33 – Last Day to Register to Vote in #GE17My Profile

  6. May 23, 2017 at 11:52 am

    This would totally work for me. Probably for my eldest too. She is really into her index cards. You’ve got me thinking about different areas to study. No rabbit hutch, and I’m not sure the chickens would share, so I might set up a corner in my office for her. #TweensTeensBeyond
    Cheryl | TimeToCraft recently posted…Morning walkMy Profile

  7. May 23, 2017 at 3:04 pm

    a different room can work wonders – gets rid of some of the distractions and is a reminder that they are actually supposed to be doing something productive #teenstweensbeyond
    Jeremy@ThirstyDaddy recently posted…First CrushesMy Profile

  8. May 23, 2017 at 3:13 pm

    That exam kit looks fab – good to see a bit of old skool kit being used – I used to love highlighting my exam timetables with cool highlighters and as you say, who doesn’t love a bit of stationery. Anything to get them engaged has got to be a winner. #tweensteensbeyond
    Susie/So Happy In Town recently posted…It’s Quiz Time For All Mr S.H.I.T.s Out ThereMy Profile

  9. May 23, 2017 at 6:59 pm

    we had no revision routine for the boys, it clearly showed in their results, but they’re all doing reasonably well now with their lives. i study with routine.
    #tweenteensbeyond
    chickenruby recently posted…My Sunday Photo Week 125. J is for Job.My Profile

  10. May 24, 2017 at 8:16 am

    The kit sounds interesting and useful. Also loved your other pointers. When one has to study for long hours chaining the location helps beat boredom as also trying new ways to study. #TweensTeensBeyond.
    Obsessivemom recently posted…Supermom!My Profile

  11. May 24, 2017 at 12:53 pm

    It’s next year I’m looking forward to *dreading*, as we’ll have one taking G.C.S.Es and one taking A Levels AT. THE. SAME. TIME. Think I might just take my gin bottle and move out… #TweensTeensBeyond
    Midlife Dramas in Pyjamas recently posted…PANIC!!My Profile

  12. Fee
    May 25, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    This kit looks great, I will have to keep it in mind for next year when our daughter takes her GCSEs.
    I think we will struggle most with getting her to take a break. She’s the exact opposite of me 😉 #TweensTennsBeyond
    Fee recently posted…Back Off With Your Body ShamingMy Profile

  13. May 25, 2017 at 2:22 pm

    I was appallingly hands-off with regard to both my daughters’ revision, and at a personal level I’ve always felt that if you don’t know the subject, revision time’s too late to come to grips with it. So I remember spending the time I should have been polishing French verbs, or checking dates for history, lounging around in the garden sunbathing instead of doing anything useful. #tweensteensbeyond
    Mary Mayfield recently posted…Cyrano – Derby TheatreMy Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge